Another Good Year For This Chateau

IMG_0012

I have been on the road this weekend and traveled up to Norfolk to spend some time away from the big smoke (London) while there I came across this lovely little wine shop called Satchells (visit http://www.satchellswines.com/) and in the corner or this Aladdin’s cave of wine I found this little gem. I did find a lot more so I am sure a few of those will be covered over the coming weeks as well.

2004 Chateau Caronne Ste Gemme  Haut Medoc (Left Bank) AC

Well with this one it’s a little raw and not so well structured compared to the 2000 and most likely the 2002. Its Ruby in colour, however the deepness that I would expect is not there. This hints that this wine will not age for much longer, well it will not improve with age I would think. But I like this wine as all I can smell is Norfolk. The black sweet fruits on the nose with the smoke wood you get from the smoke houses up there let you know this is going to be a good little number. The flavour, well you can feel the black fruits of the Cabernet Sauvignon and the spice that slowly warms your mouth which helps give it a good body. The smooth tannins which are medium to high on the levels then kick in before you get the hit of acidity which balances the wine to a good all round touch. All in all this is not a bad wine but buy it now and drink it now.

Food

We are talking steak or risk an early BBQ, bang on the burgers, steak and lamb, big flavours will go great with this wine and it will stand up to them toe to toe.

Cost 

I got this bottle for £18.99 and for this year and the taste and mix of flavours that is a good price. Do not pay more than £21 for it get the 2002 instead or buy a very good Malbec

Score 8/10 Very Good but drink now. Next year the score will be 6/10 Good

Leave a comment